Charlie, you aren't actually getting the program from the site, but instead are getting it from another user that has 'shared' the file with the rest of the network. The overnet program (like others out there) is simply a file sharing software that works over the internet to make a HUGE peer-to-peer network. Anyone can share anything, including copyright protected software, music files, and viruses. Just because you can download it doesn't mean it's legal. I'm sure you've heard of Napster, the music sharing software. The company was forced to shut down and there were hundreds of arrests made in the past year for copyright violations. This is the same thing. -kris > -----Original Message----- > From: Susan Dennis [mailto:scprints@...] > Sent: Thursday, June 03, 2004 11:12 PM > To: DigitalBlackandWhiteThePrint@yahoogroups.com > Subject: RE: [Digital BW] Re: PhotoShop CS for $299 > > James > > Thank you again for your comments and feed back. My question > is why if it is such a problem for Adobe why don't they go > after these web sites that promote it in a very large and > public way and have them shut down? it Does not make sense > when they are so open about it. That would solve the problem > very quick. It is not the case where people are lending their > disks and key codes to others or selling it to others to use. > I am not justifying it or what they do at these sites but it > would be a simple matter to move in on them as a group and > put them out of business. Wouldn't you think? I don't know, > maybe there are court cases pending but you don't hear about them. > > Does anyone else have any information on why they don't > follow this course of action to get to these distributors? > There must be some reason why. I will ask my attorney that > question again. > > Thanks > > Charlie
Message
RE: [Digital BW] Re: PhotoShop CS for $299
2004-06-04 by Graphikris
Attachments
- No local attachments were found for this message.