Yahoo Groups archive

Digital BW, The Print

Index last updated: 2026-04-28 22:56 UTC

Message

Re: [Digital BW] Photoshop CS for $99

2004-04-30 by Steve Bell

On 30/4/04 4:33 pm, "Andre" <am1000@...> wrote:

> Anyone have any experience with this web site selling Photoshop CS
> for $99: http://www.ibackups.net/
> 
> It shows up as a Yahoo Sponsored Links when one signs up for a group
> like the Photokit Yahoo group. Or is this just another web site
> trying to get your credit card number for unauthorized use ? And
> would Yahoo be liable in that case ?
> 
> Cheers,
> Andre
> 

I wouldn't touch them with a bargepole. You do not get a legal copy, only a
'backup' of something you already are deemed to legally own. It's just high
priced pirate software. If you already owned a legal copy why would you pay
them 99 USD for a backup copy you could make yourself? Generally, if
something looks too good to be true, there's a catch.

See this from their web site.

Steve Bell

9. Terms of Software Use

 9.1 You understand that in order for iBackups.net to make you a copy of any
software, you acknowledge that you are the legal owner of this same
software, and are looking to just make a new copy for archival (backup)
purposes only. You also agree to destroy all copies of the software in the
event it is ever no longer voluntarily in your possession. You understand
that only the licensed owner (with a valid serial number, where applicable)
of the various software found on iBackups.net may use the services located
here. You also acknowledge that the software you have was obtained legally
and that you have the legal right to request this backup copy to be made.

Attachments

Move to quarantaine

This moves the raw source file on disk only. The archive index is not changed automatically, so you still need to run a manual refresh afterward.