Yahoo Groups archive

Digital BW, The Print

Index last updated: 2026-04-28 22:56 UTC

Thread

Photoshop CS for $99

Photoshop CS for $99

2004-04-30 by Andre

Anyone have any experience with this web site selling Photoshop CS 
for $99: http://www.ibackups.net/

It shows up as a Yahoo Sponsored Links when one signs up for a group 
like the Photokit Yahoo group. Or is this just another web site 
trying to get your credit card number for unauthorized use ? And 
would Yahoo be liable in that case ?

Cheers,
Andre

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Yahoo! Sponsored Links 
Adobe PhotoShop 7 For Windows - $119.95: Buy Adobe Photoshop 7 and 
start using it today, with instant downloads offered on all software. 
Ibackups offers full installs, not upgrades. www.ibackups.

Re: [Digital BW] Photoshop CS for $99

2004-04-30 by Steve Bell

On 30/4/04 4:33 pm, "Andre" <am1000@...> wrote:

> Anyone have any experience with this web site selling Photoshop CS
> for $99: http://www.ibackups.net/
> 
> It shows up as a Yahoo Sponsored Links when one signs up for a group
> like the Photokit Yahoo group. Or is this just another web site
> trying to get your credit card number for unauthorized use ? And
> would Yahoo be liable in that case ?
> 
> Cheers,
> Andre
> 

I wouldn't touch them with a bargepole. You do not get a legal copy, only a
'backup' of something you already are deemed to legally own. It's just high
priced pirate software. If you already owned a legal copy why would you pay
them 99 USD for a backup copy you could make yourself? Generally, if
something looks too good to be true, there's a catch.

See this from their web site.

Steve Bell

9. Terms of Software Use

 9.1 You understand that in order for iBackups.net to make you a copy of any
software, you acknowledge that you are the legal owner of this same
software, and are looking to just make a new copy for archival (backup)
purposes only. You also agree to destroy all copies of the software in the
event it is ever no longer voluntarily in your possession. You understand
that only the licensed owner (with a valid serial number, where applicable)
of the various software found on iBackups.net may use the services located
here. You also acknowledge that the software you have was obtained legally
and that you have the legal right to request this backup copy to be made.

Re: Photoshop CS for $99

2004-05-01 by Scott Graham

how could anyone be so stupid as to think that Photoshop might HONESTLY sell for $99?

--- In DigitalBlackandWhiteThePrint@yahoogroups.com, "Andre" <am1000@v...> wrote:
Show quoted textHide quoted text
> Anyone have any experience with this web site selling Photoshop CS 
> for $99: http://www.ibackups.net/
> 
> It shows up as a Yahoo Sponsored Links when one signs up for a group 
>

Re: Photoshop CS for $99

2004-05-01 by Andre

Scott,
The original post asked two questions, namely "is this just another 
web site trying to get your credit card number for unauthorized use ? 
And would Yahoo be liable in that case ?" since its a sponsored Yahoo 
link.

Do you have an answer to both questions ?


--- In DigitalBlackandWhiteThePrint@yahoogroups.com, "Scott Graham" 
<gebilwil@n...> wrote:
> how could anyone be so stupid as to think that Photoshop might 
HONESTLY sell for $99?
> 
> --- In DigitalBlackandWhiteThePrint@yahoogroups.com, "Andre" 
<am1000@v...> wrote:
> > Anyone have any experience with this web site selling Photoshop 
CS 
> > for $99: http://www.ibackups.net/
> > 
> > It shows up as a Yahoo Sponsored Links when one signs up for a 
group 
> >

RE: [Digital BW] Photoshop CS for $99

2004-05-02 by Peter Williams

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Andre [mailto:am1000@...]
> 
> Anyone have any experience with this web site selling Photoshop CS 
> for $99: http://www.ibackups.net/
> 

Read the ad carefully. All they are selling is a copy of
the PS media, they say that they assume you already have
a valid licence key. They say this is an archival backup
so that you are protected if the original media is lost
or destroyed. It is just s stupid scam to get you to pay
$99 for a blank CD that they burn PS to.

-- 
Peter Williams

Move to quarantaine

This moves the raw source file on disk only. The archive index is not changed automatically, so you still need to run a manual refresh afterward.