> I'm so confused: How can this be legal? There's the rub - technically it is not... it is, in fact, totally illegal and in most courts or law across the world could be prosecuted under various copyright laws and laws relating to 'unfair trading'. It's the audio equivalent of of taking images from the latest movie blockbuster (say 'Narnia' or 'Harry Potter 4') and running off T-shirts to sell at a car boot sale (or, indeed, on a website). It is also pretty much the equivalent of copying/sampling any of the major sound libs (Garritan, VSL, East-West, whatever) and selling those as 'your own'. Think about it for a moment: Korg, Yamaha, Roland - whoever - spend $1.5 millions developing a new product (including teams of sound designers across the world making new sounds for it). The product price is set according to projected sales in order to recoup those substantial R+D investments. It goes into production and hits the streets. And then some twat like this come along, samples all the sounds and sells 'em for peanuts. Not only that, this one brags that you don't need to spend $2,500 on the original keyboard; $14.99 will get you the lot!! Hmmmmm! To be honest, I believe that promoting this Floss product here is contravening the fine and upstanding policy regarding piracy that this forum upholds. Think about it for a moment: I doubt anyone would report user/tech problems regarding any 3rd-party sound lib (such as the aforementioned Garritan, VSL, East-West, whatever) that had been similarly ripped off. In fact, I doubt the message would even make it up for public consumption... the rigorous moderator would censor it! It's no different. Furthermore, many of these companies have teams of legal eagles looking out for such contraventions - Floss could be in serious trouble if/when found out. He could be slammed with (at the very least) 'cease and desist' orders from the company's attorneys, could be charged for copyright convention of their sounds, for using (even *abusing*) their registered trademark, etc.. I am sure the guy is acting in all innocence but what he is doing is technically illegal. Technically as well, anyone who subscribes to his products by buying them is complicit in an act of piracy of intellectual copyright. Best regards, Steve http://www.hollowsun.com
Message
Re: [EXS] Re: WWW.INSPIRATIONSOUNDS.CO.UK or Flossmodestudios.com and Release Time help?
2005-12-26 by Hollow Sun
Attachments
- No local attachments were found for this message.